The Disaster Resilient Communities Committee is responsible for developing connections between public and private organizations and communities across the country in order to encourage a collaborative, whole community approach to hazard mitigation.

Update on DRC Committee activities as of April 2012

This committee is overseeing NHMA work with the Federal Insurance and Mitigation Administration on their Mitigation Model to foster incentives for mitigation, as described in the following report:  The Mitigation Model: A Path Toward Resilience [pdf]

We are encouraging NHMA members to attend the following workshop at the ASFPM Conference in San Antonio on May 25th, submitted to the conference by NHMA and led by DRC committee members:

Fostering Resilient Communities: Implementing a Whole Community Approach from a Mitigation Perspective


The whole community approach to local resilience offers great promise for long-term loss reduction. Workshop participants will define mitigation’s role in community resilience, identify key elements of case study programs, and share lessons learned. Discussion will include: finding technical assistance and needed resources, tailoring programs to local needs and opportunities, and selling resilience to the whole community. Participants will develop bullet lists for framework resilience plans and share contact information to encourage peer-to-peer mentoring among communities seeking to foster resilience. Prerequistes: Basic localized and emergency management knowledge and interest required. Although not required, exposure to the following documents prior to attending the workshop would be helpful—

  1.  “A Whole Community Approach to Emergency Management: Principles, Concepts and Pathways to Action,” and,
  2.  “Planning and Building Livable, Safe & Sustainable Communities – The Patchwork Quilt Approach”

We also are encouraging partnering communities to attend the NHMA Practitioner’s Workshop in Broomfield CO in July 2012.

Committee Members:
Bonnie Canal
Roger Faris
Bob Freitag
Wendy Freitag
Alessandra Jerolleman (ex-officio)
Susan Kammerad-Campbell
Tim Lovell (chair)
Barbara Miller
Ann Patton
Christopher Prickett
Joni Lee Rennhack
Ed Thomas (ex-officio)

Volunteer With NHMA