FEMA Announces FY19 PDM and FMA Application Cycle

Click here to view FEMA_FY19P_DM&FMA_ApplicationCycle as a PDF.


FEMA Announces FY19 PDM and FMA Application Cycle

FEMA has posted the Fiscal Year 2019 (FY19) Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) announcements for the Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant programs on www.grants.gov. These NOFOs provide an overview of the grant programs and details about the agency’s funding priorities and review process. FEMA will offer a series of webinars in September and October on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective applicants and how to use Mitigation eGrants, the system that FEMA will use to accept and process all grant applications. Applicants may attend any session. Upcoming sessions are listed below. View the complete webinar schedule.

NOFO Overview
FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective applicants. This webinar will be offered three times, and applicants may attend any session.

  • Wednesday, September 4 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 10 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)
  • Tuesday, September 17 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/fy19nofo/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.

 

NOFO Overview for Tribal Applicants

FEMA will offer a webinar on the FY19 NOFOs for prospective tribal applicants.

  • Wednesday, September 11 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/fy19nofo_tribal/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.


E-Grants For Beginners
This webinar will be offered four times, and prospective FY19 applicants may attend any session. These webinars will be “MT eGrants 101” for basic users and new users. Topics covered will include how to access the system, where to go for help, and plenty of time for question and answer. Primarily intended for subapplicants and new users.

  • Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 9 a.m. Eastern Time (8 am Central, 7 am Mountain, 6 am Pacific)
  • Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time (4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific)
  • Wednesday, October 16, 2019 at 5 p.m. Eastern Time (4 pm Central, 3 pm Mountain, 2 pm Pacific)
  • Monday, October 21, 2019 at 9 a.m. Eastern Time (8 am Central, 7 am Mountain, 6 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/beginnersegrants/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.     


Avoiding Application Pitfalls

FEMA will offer a webinar on common Pre-Disaster Mitigation grant application errors and how to avoid them. This webinar will be offered two times, and applicants may attend either session.

  • Tuesday, October 8 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

  • Tuesday, October 15 at 2 pm Eastern Time (1 pm Central, 12 pm Mountain, 11 am Pacific)

For the online portion, please join via the Internet:https://fema.connectsolutions.com/application-pitfalls/ and for audio, please call 1-800-320-4330 and enter conference code 338559.

FEMA will open the FY19 application period on September 30, 2019. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov. All applications must be submitted no later than 3 pm Eastern Time on January 31, 2020.


PROGRAM FUNDING

Flood Mitigation Assistance:

FMA grants are available to implement measures to reduce or eliminate risk of severe repetitive and repetitive flood damage to buildings insured by the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). In FY19, $160 million is available for FMA grants. There is a set-aside of $70 million for community flood mitigation advance assistance and flood mitigation projects to ensure community needs are met. The remainder of the FY19 FMA grants will be awarded on a competitive basis for planning, technical assistance, and projects that will reduce or eliminate claims under the NFIP with a focus on mitigation of severe repetitive loss (SRL) and repetitive loss properties (RL).

Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-19-MT-029-000-99 and FY 2019 FMA Fact Sheet.


Pre-Disaster Mitigation:

The goal of the PDM grant program is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures, while at the same time reducing reliance on federal funding from Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act) disaster declarations. In this application cycle, $250 million is available in PDM, including a set-aside of $20 million for federally recognized tribes.

The balance of funds will be for the competitive mitigation activities with a major focus on resilient infrastructure. FEMA has increased the maximum available to $125 million for Resilient Infrastructure Competitive Funding project type with a federal cost share capped at $10 million. This priority will provide the opportunity to advance capital projects on a community level, ready for investment that will reduce risks, prevent loss of life and leads to significant savings by reducing damage from future disasters and lowering flood insurance premiums.

FEMA also continues the Advance Assistance priority that will be used to fund development of mitigation strategies and obtain data to prioritize, select, and develop community mitigation projects for future funding. FEMA will select eligible planning and project subapplications that limit duplication of other HMA programs by prioritizing funding in areas without post-disaster funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP). As directed by the Congressional appropriations language, FEMA will use the majority of the PDM funding for mitigation projects.

Further information is in the NOFO: DHS-19-MT-047-000-99 and FY 2019 PDM Fact Sheet.