NHMA Committees  


Volunteer With NHMA

Adaptation Committee: This committee will foster connections between hazard mitigation and adaptation communities of practice to help enhance local community resilience to extreme weather and a changing climate.
Chair: Shana Udvardy

Advisory Committee: Responsible for serving as the public face of NHMA at various events and functions, acting as a knowledge base in their particular area of expertise for the Board and organization at large, and recommendations for developing and improving the NHMA program

Disaster Resilient Communities Committee: Responsible for developing connections between public and private organizations to encourage a unified approach to hazard mitigation.

Education Committee: Responsible for developing a speakers bureau, best practices, public and professional education, continuing education credits and working with academia.
Chair: Roger Faris

Executive Committee: Composed of the NHMA Board’s Officers and Past President, as well as Committee Chairs, as needed. Responsible for meeting monthly, as needed, to manage NHMA business and reporting back to full Board.
Chair: Ed Thomas

Hazard Mitigation Planning Committee: Responsible for working to improve the nation’s hazard mitigation planning.
Co-Chairs: Lawrence Frank and Steve Pardue

International Activities Committee: The International Activities Committee establishes networks between emergency managers and hazard mitigation practitioners worldwide.
Chair: Michèle Companion

Marketing Committee: Works on developing strategies that clearly communicate and promote NHMA’s mission with the goal of generating public and private donors to fund NHMA functions.  The primary responsibilities of the Committee are to find potential contributors, obtain donations and achieve continued support of existing donors by fulfilling their expectations and remaining true to NHMA’s mission and causes.

Membership CommitteeWorks to foster connections to existing members and to promote the organization to new and prospective members including corporations and institutions.
Co-Chairs: Ponmile Olonilua, Ed Thomas, and John Wiener

Policy and Public Affairs Committee: The mission of this committee is to be responsible for tracking and publishing periodic reports about legislation pertinent to hazard mitigation, as well as commenting on pending bills.
Co-Chairs: Thom and Lillian Robison

Symposium/Workshop Committee: is responsible for organizing the annual International Hazard Mitigation Practitioners Workshop, which is held every July in Colorado.
Co-Chairs: Erin Capps and Tom Hughes